Focus on Fitness

I don’t know about you, but I would not give myself an A+ in prioritizing fitness. I’ve focused on making time to exercise more over the last year or so but it has not been easy. There are so many demands on our time and, at least for me, exercising can quickly be pushed aside. Different things work for different people. What I’ve found is that I need an exercise regime that is easy for me to do whenever I have time and is something I can do at home.

Are you struggling to make time to exercise? Here are some things to consider:

  1. Do you have a gym nearby that you would be willing to go to? If you realize that the only way you’d go to a gym is if it is in your house, then that will affect how you create your exercise strategy!
  2. What types of exercise do you enjoy? If you hate running then don’t even bother incorporating that into your strategy! I love Pilates, cycling, dance and yoga so I try to identify opportunities to do one of those things for my workout.
  3. What supplies do you have? Obviously, if you don’t have a bike, you can’t cycle. So, figure out what you already have. There are a lot of programs that do not require any weights or special items.
  4. How much time do you have? Now, I would challenge you to really examine how much time you have. If I just look at how my days go, I don’t have much time available. But if I recognize how much time I “waste”, then I actually have a lot of time to devote to exercising.

Once you’ve worked through these items, then you are ready to create your exercise plan! In the same way it is hard to go cold turkey on anything, deciding to go from not working out to every day is probably not feasible. Here’s what I did to get started:

  1. Find a buddy! You need to find someone who will check in with you, cheer you on and keep you accountable. It doesn’t have to be someone you see every day or even exercise with as long as they will check in with you regularly.
  2. Put it on the calendar. If something isn’t on my calendar, I likely won’t do it. Schedule in a 1-3 days the first week to get started.
  3. Start easy. Don’t go out the gate and try to do an hour long Pilates video or a 20 mile bike ride. Work your way up. This will give you a chance to figure out what level you are at.
  4. Be kind to yourself. There are going to be times when you miss a workout and the worst thing you can do is beat yourself up. Be kind to yourself but also use this as motivation to stay consistent!
  5. Try new things. If you are trying to get into Pilates and yoga, try some different classes, instructors, videos, etc. It’ll not only present different challenges but help you figure out what programs you like best!

So, what am I doing to get fit this summer? I’m a member of the Balanced Life Sisterhood and am continuing to work on getting consistent with the awesome Pilates videos from Robin Long. We are also supporting one of our friends who is a Beachbody coach by doing one of their programs. (If you have questions about Beachbody, let me know and I’ll connect you!) But, mostly, we are enjoying the outside. We will be camping, hiking, biking, and more as we appreciate the beautiful outdoors.

How have you created an exercise strategy for yourself?

Leave a Reply

