I don’t really have hobbies

free time.jpg

Every time people ask me, “What do you like to do for fun?”, I want to answer, “I don’t do anything specifically.” Which sounds really boring. I don’t think I’m boring (maybe I am) but it really boils down to not having time for hobbies. When people ask about my hobbies, I feel like I have to make something up in a way. What I would like to say is that I do art projects (drawing, fixing up antiques), read, do a bunch of gardening, spend time outside with my husband and dog but that is really not very accurate. I certainly do all of those things but so rarely that I don’t consider them to be true hobbies.

This recent realization has made me realize how important hobbies are and how harmful it can be to have none. By not having hobbies, I am essentially “working” all the time. Not necessarily at my job, although I do spend many hours there, but if I’m not at work, I’m doing school work, housework, or something else. And what I realized is that by not having any time to be creative and do something for fun, even things like volunteering or cooking dinner with my husband feel like a chore. Those are moments I treasure greatly but the “break” in time that hobbies provide also provide fuel to appreciate those moments. If all you do is wake up, rush through getting ready in the morning, race to work, get home from work and immediately start in on dinner/chores, then do some other tasks around the house before crashing in bed, it is no wonder that you would no longer appreciate the small moments you used to enjoy. (I’m talking to myself here.)

So, how do you create time for hobbies? Here are my tips!

  1. Write down a list of all the things you would ideally like to do if you had the time. (Truth moment: you have the time. I have the time. We (the collective we) just don’t use our time wisely.)
  2. Create a schedule for your week! Yes, this sounds very type A of me (which I am) but it is the only way to ensure that you can make time. If you don’t know what you are supposed to be doing, you won’t know when you are wasting time unnecessarily.
  3. Do prep as much as possible. This goes from meal prep for the week to scheduling out or taking care of chores earlier to keeping a stock of materials for your hobby so you don’t have the excuse of not having any of the materials you need.
  4. Be gracious. You don’t need to wake up tomorrow and find an hour to draw. But if you can opt for doing a 20 minutes drawing in an adult coloring book (yes they exist!!!!!!) instead of watching that show on Hulu, it will make a big difference. And some days you will just want to veg out and that is okay.

What would you add to this list to make time for your hobbies?!

 

One thought on “I don’t really have hobbies

  1. I remember seeing you do sudoku puzzles, which I think could be a hobby. How about some needlepoint?

    For now, I’ll stick with running, biking, exercising, cooking and gardening, but I’d like to add soap-making to my list of hobbies one of these days.

Leave a Reply

