Homemade Almond Milk – Take 1!

I recently was introduced to the blog Oh She Glows, specifically regarding a delicious homemade almond milk recipe. I’ve been wanting to try it out ever since we got a vitamix and this recipe seemed like the perfect inspiration! We got all the items, soaked the almonds and whipped up some almond milk. Here’s what I learned:

  • She recommends a nut bag for straining the almond meal from the milk. FIND. A. WAY. TO. GET. ONE. I tried (and failed) to make cheese cloth work. I ended up with no almond meal and gritty almond milk. Which ended up fine because we used it for smoothies but we will be getting a nut bag next time.
  • The first thing I thought when I tasted it was “Wow, this is not sweet at all!”. Followed shortly with, “Gosh, they must put a TON of sugar in the store bought almond milk.”. I can read labels, I know there is sugar in mainstream almond milk. But I was surprised to actually TASTE how much of a difference there is.
  • The aromatics of the spices are divine. The cinnamon is incredible and the pinch of salt perfectly pulls the flavors together. I forgot to get dates but I will definitely be adding that in next time because I can only image how perfect of a complement dates are.

So while my first homemade almond milk experience was not the success I had hoped for, it was so easy, amazingly tasty and ultimately very cheap to do. I will definitely be transitioning our almond milk over to homemade (with the help of a nut bag of course).

Have you made your own nut milk? What are your secrets for success?!

I forgot to take a picture of our homemade almond milk in its mason jar (:/) so here is a random other photo!

10624913_10153085770054908_5235087921216466922_n

4 thoughts on “Homemade Almond Milk – Take 1!

  1. I know your brother made some once upon a time. You should ask him about it. I saw a video once of someone just using almond butter and some water for a super quick version. I haven’t tried making any myself yet, but once you perfect it, I might! 🙂

Leave a Reply

