Domestic Violence: NFL and Jewelry

There has been a lot of heated discussion about domestic violence in the past few months. I wanted to learn more about it and deafen the name blaming that seemed to be going on all around. I listened to a several pretty intriguing and challenging TED talks, which I would encourage others to listen to as well. I’ve included the two I felt most compelled by:

Why Domestic Violence Victims Don’t Leave

Violence Against Women, It’s a Men’s Issue

With all the NFL drama, I wanted to be informed. I wanted to learn more about the issue other than “people who do this should be shunned from society and never allowed to work again” and “she married him anyways so isn’t it a little her fault”. After educating myself somewhat, I have developed an opinion about the NFL drama and the various suspensions (or lack thereof) in the past few months. Rather than spout out yet another take on the issue (we’ve been the dead horse enough), I want to pose a different take. Domestic violence often blames the women involved and also tends to remove the man from the issue. (You’ll hear more about it in the second video above.) What I’d like to see change in the NFL is their color. Specifically, the color their wear in the month of October. Typically, the NFL players sport bright pink in support of Breast Cancer Awareness month during the month of October. I’m not saying they should abandon this partnership BUT October is not just Breast Cancer Awareness month. It’s also Domestic Violence Awareness month. And in light of the recent press, it would seem very fitting that this month our NFL stars would sport a little something…purple.

I know I am focusing on Domestic Violence this month in my business through Chloe + Isabel rather than jumping on the enormous train that is Breast Cancer Awareness. I am so glad there are mountains of support for breast cancer (especially as a woman) but I do not want it to overshadow domestic violence and sexual assault awareness. This year in particular is one where the two incredible causes may need to split the spotlight. If you would like to support Domestic Violence awareness, I will be donating proceeds to No More (nomore.org). I ask that you join me in this fight!

Capture

Leave a Reply

