Conquering the Flu: Gluten Free

While I fight to get over the flu, the most difficult part is finding things to eat that would be soothing AND gluten free. My boyfriend has been so loving and caring as I suffer through the flu season! Here are some of my flu season, gluten free foodie tips:

Ginger Tea (Not from a tea bag):

Cut up chunks of ginger (fresh ginger with the skin peeled off) and put them in the bottom or your mug/pot/etc. How much you use will dictate how strong it is so I would suggest you start off with only 4-5 chunks unless you know you love ginger! Pour hot water over the ginger and let it steep for 5 minutes. Once it is done steeping, you may cut the ginger with some fresh squeezed lemon juice or honey if you really want to.

Gluten Free Waffles

My absolute favorite Gluten Free pancake/waffle mix is the Pure Pantry. This is definitely my comfort food and was a wonderful surprise for breakfast this morning. Even though its not a “sick regimen” food but it sure is delicious.

Homemade Kale Chips:

This is not, necessarily, an anti-flu food but kale has amazing nutrients. In addition to the great nutritional qualities of kale, it is absolutely delicious when roasted in the oven! The way I prepare them is by coating the kale chips with olive oil, sea salt and thyme (fresh I possible). Put them on a baking sheet and in to a 425 oven. I bake them for about 8-10 minutes, shifting and flipping the kale until they are crisp and browning.

These are some of my flu season favorites! I hope you don’t get sick this year but if you do, I hope these ideas are helpful.

20130113-193353.jpg

Leave a Reply

